Negative Painting

Valentine Rainbow, 3" x 8.5"

Negative painting is the term used for painting the spaces around an object or shape.  One essentially paints that which isn’t there (the negative), leaving the object (the positive) as the lighter shape.  Today I used this technique to make valentines, since Valentine’s Day is next week.

Red, Purple, Blue, 3.5" x 5.25"
Reds and Yellows, 3.5" x 5.25"

My first step was to tear the watercolor paper into the size I wanted for cards.  The dimensions were mandated by the size of the envelopes.  Then I taped the paper to my painting board, covering over 1/2″ on each side to leave a border.  I wet the surface and put in a light wash of the selected colors.

Shades of Red, step #1

After letting this dry, I traced some hearts on the paper.  I painted around the hearts.

Shades of Red, step #2

When this layer dried, I traced some more hearts, overlapping them with the first layer.  Then I painted around both layers of hearts.

Shades of Red, step #3

After several times of layering in hearts, I penned in a border, removed the tape and had a finished card.

Shades of Red, 3.5" x 5.25"

After taking a week off from painting because we were traveling and helping my daughter with her new baby, this was a good exercise to get me thinking like an artist again and energized to finish the projects already started.

Our first granddaughter is now 15 mo. old
Now she has a little sister!

One thought on “Negative Painting

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

