3rd of 120 Paintings – Fussy China

I didn’t realize until I started talking about using this china in a watercolor painting that my husband thought of this as my “fussy china.”  It is delicate, would be expensive to replace, and he doesn’t see it used often, as I get it out on special occasions with friends.

Shelley Coffee Pot, watercolor, 7" x 5"

My childhood memories of visiting my grandmother include knowing that she usually had her breakfast brought to her in bed.  This was some of the china that would be used on her tray.  My mother and I would eat in the kitchen or the dining room and my grandmother would join us later in the day.  After her funeral, I was allowed to bring home the bits and pieces of the set that remained and it has sat, mostly unused, in my china cabinet, but I think of her when I get other china out of the glass-fronted cabinet.

Although this painting is 5″ x 7″, the coffee pot itself is 6″ tall.

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

