4th of 120 Paintings – Spilled Coffee

Spilled Coffee, watercolor, 5" x 7"

I’ve been thinking about the next painting in my coffee series and decided to use today’s small painting as a time for working out some ideas.  I’m glad this is just a practice painting.  I learned where to put the reflections on the puddle of coffee to give the puddle some height, but I don’t like the shape of the puddle.  I also need to work on the shape of the mug; the perspective is not right, especially in the oval forming the  rim.

_____________________________________________________________

120 Paintings
  • “It takes 120 bad paintings to know something about painting.”  –  Larry Seiler as quoted by Jeff Mahorney in his blog
  • Each painting is small in format and should be completed in about an hour or less.
  • My goals are to improve my technique, to paint faster, and to gain experience with a variety of subjects.

2 thoughts on “4th of 120 Paintings – Spilled Coffee

  1. The spill isn’t right. I think it’s that surface tension makes spills assumer more rounded shapes. But if the coffee is absorbed by the surface on which it is spilled that would be different.
    Dad –

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

