Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused

It was a difficult  to find a watercolor picture that fulfilled this challenge!  This watery picture of a sea turtle, painted from a photo I took at the Boston Aquarium a couple of years ago, is mostly unfocused.

Sea Turtle, watercolor, 18″ x 23″

This is also the first painting I ever sold.  I had it in a gallery in Fairfax, Virginia, and a woman come in and bought it for her son, who was studying marine biology and especially liked turtles.   At that time, my father and stepmother were living in the basement apartment of our house while they built their retirement home, and for a while, Sea Turtle had hung over their bed before going to the gallery.  My stepmother still teases me about selling their bedroom decor without her permission!

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused | Creativity Aroused

    • Thanks, Amar! I was dismayed when I first saw the challenge because I don’t usually paint something that doesn’t have a focal point, but I scrolled through my files and came across this one which I thought fulfilled the spirit of the challenge. I appreciate you visiting and leaving a comment.

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

