Weekly Photo Challenge: Hands

This watercolor picture was painted from a black and white photo that my mother took of my brothers and me (about 1963).  In painting pictures of people, the important areas to get correct are (of course) the face, but not so obviously, the hands.  One of the challenges for me here was to get the expressiveness of these chubby toddler hands correct.

The photo has turned sepia and spotted with age, but by concentrating on the lights and shadows and making up my own colors, I have brought it back to life.  My mother remembers taking the photo, so I have painted it again, and she now has the most recent rendition hanging in her bedroom.  The first time I painted it was for a present for my older brother (the one on the left), and this second edition is at our house.

Sittin’ on a Curb, watercolor, 14″ x 21″

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Hands

  1. From a photo to a painting. That’s wonderful. I love how you brought it back to life.

    • Knowing my brothers and myself made it easier, in that I could envision our physical characteristics and personality traits, but that also made it harder, in that I knew when it wasn’t quite right. Thanks for your comment.

  2. So glad you made a comment over on my blog today so that I could meet you. What a wonderful artist you are! I love your paintings; and how special for your Mom to have the updated rendition to look at now.

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

