#14 of 120 Paintings – Hydrangeas

Hydrangea, watercolor, 7″ x 5″

SOLD!

This watercolor of hydrangea took me more than the hour I usually spend on the paintings in this series.  Although I had practiced the positive and negative painting in ferns a couple of days ago, I found myself getting lost in the midst of all the petals on these flowers, and had to take breaks so that I could refocus.

____________________________________________________________

120 Paintings

“It takes 120 bad paintings to know something about painting.”  –  Larry Seiler as quoted by Jeff Mahorney in his blog

Each painting is small in format and should be completed in about an hour or less.

My goals are to improve my technique, to paint faster, and to gain experience with a variety of subjects.

13 thoughts on “#14 of 120 Paintings – Hydrangeas

    • I thought so, too. I was fascinated by the range of color in the blossoms from blue through lavender to pink. Thanks for coming by and leaving a comment.

    • The one hour limit (which I did not adhere to in this painting) is to make me paint faster and not get so hung up with the details until at the last. Also, it helps me to do many paintings. The mileage under the paint brush is a key to improvement.

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

