# 19 of 120 Paintings – Inside Grandfather Clock

Inside Grandfather Clock, watercolor, 7.5″ x 3″

When I turn the key on the old wooden door and open our grandfather clock, several important parts are visible.  Two solid lead weights, one to power the pendulum and one to power the strike, hang from pulleys on thin metal cables. The cables go up into the clock works, which are located behind the face of the clock. All the finely crafted gears are run by the potential energy stored in the hanging weights.  Behind the weights is the pendulum, a cast iron disk at the end of a thin metal rod, which swings back and forth, measuring out the seconds of our lives.

What kind of clock do you have?

_____________________________________________________________

120 Paintings

“It takes 120 bad paintings to know something about painting.”  –  Larry Seiler as quoted by Jeff Mahorney in his blog

Each painting is small in format and should be completed in about an hour or less.

My goals are to improve my technique, to paint faster, and to gain experience with a variety of subjects.

8 thoughts on “# 19 of 120 Paintings – Inside Grandfather Clock

  1. Hi! We used to have a grandfather clock, a new one, but it broke during moving. I mostly use my cell phone to tell time, but also have a kitchen clock designed on a coffe theme. Mmm. In our sunroom, I made a rule about no clocks. I said, “If I need to know what time it is in here, I am in the wrong room.” It is true, since this room tends to lounging around and other TIME wasters. 🙂
    Great paiinting!

    • Since getting a cell phone, I no longer wear a watch. We don’t have a clock in our sunroom either, but we have three chiming clocks nearby.
      Sorry to hear about your clock. We had special crates made for moving the grandfather clock, one for the body and one for the cowl with the glass over the face. The works, weights, and pendulum come out and get packed into another box. With all this protection, all the boxes marked fragile, and my husband’s experience, our grandfather clock has moved well 14 times. Hopefully he can stay standing where he is now for a longer time.

  2. Moving is such work! And something always breaks or goes missing. We’ve moved about as many times as you have. I am ready to stay put, but my husband says when we retire, we’ll need a smaller place . . .

    • When people find out that my husband was in the military, one of the usual comments is about how much we must have moved, but I have noticed that most American families move about as many times as we have, we just move farther each time.

      • We moved 4 times in the military, but it was not his career, in the end. Most of our moves were for job changes, though. We had a mover tell us once, “Furniture is not built to be moved. It’s meant to stay put.” I can see their frustration, but they surely do make mistakes along the way, too, that have nothing to do with how it’s built. 😐

  3. I have lived all my life, accompanied by watches and clocks. And even now, that I have the time on the cell phone, I still carry a watch. The closest I have to your grandfather clock, is a Swiss coo coo clock, which I got many years ago. It too works on the principles of weight to drive the clock and to mark the hours.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Ruth Bailey, artist

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

