Working Large

Occasionally  my abilities as an artist are put to use in other areas.  I have been working on a mural for our church’s Vacation Bible School program.  The theme of the event is “Olympion” and the organizers want a canvas with a large stadium on it.  Here I am putting the spectators in the stands.

Olympion Mural, 72″ x 216″, latex paint on canvas

Working this large has been a challenge for me.  Although the mural will hang in the front of the church, I have had to work on it while it is on the floor.  Getting the perspective right has been a process of 1) draw the line, 2)step back as far as I can and still see the line, and 3) gauge if it looks okay.  Erase and redraw.  Repeat.  After the drawing was complete, laying in the color just took a lot of time on my knees.  I’ve also walked in and kneeled on the wet paint, tracking it over other portions.  But unlike watercolor, latex paint is opaque and I can cover over the mistakes.

As I worked today, I was continually reminded of the verse from Hebrews 12:1 – “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.”

2 thoughts on “Working Large

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

