Weekly Photo Challenge: Wrong

Here I am a week behind in the Weekly Photo Challenge.  I painted this watercolor of the Maryland Capital building while sitting outside a couple of blocks away and I got the perspective wrong.  It wasn’t until I got home that I noticed that I had painted the dome as it would have looked with an affinity for the Leaning Tower of Pisa.

Maryland Capital, watercolor, 7″ x 5″
painted in plein air

I did, however, take a photo while I was there and have now painted it again with better perspective.  (It helps to have a straight edge and a square so the upright lines are perpendicular to the bottom of the picture plane.)

Maryland Capital Dome, watercolor, 7″ x 5″

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Wrong

    • Katharine, you are so supportive! I haven’t had such a compliment since my brother told me that my paintings were hanging next to his Turners and holding their own. Of course, both he and I knew that he was referring not to J.M.W. Turner, but my maternal grandfather, Theodore Turner.

  1. Working from life has advantages and disadvantages. The spontaneity is worth the risk of losing track of that perfect drawing/painting, but oh how frustrating it is to find that a well-executed painting has a few obvious flaws! There’s a lot of truth that one can learn more from painting the same subject more than once instead of several random paintings. I admire you for tackling it a second time. the end result certainly put the other in its place – though both are well painted! Great work, and thanks for sharing! Z

    • I appreciate your feedback. Coming from you, I am not surprised at your like of the topsy-turvy look of my first attempt. I bet you could write a doosie of a story about it.

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

