Can the Star of Last Week’s Picture Play a Supporting Role Today?

Last week I posted a watercolor painting of a pumpkin, a gourd, an apple, and an ear of corn.  The pumpkin, by nature of its size and bright color, became the focus of the autumn arrangement.

In this picture, I have tried to focus on the acorns hidden in the oak leaves, but this pumpkin is somewhat of a diva and doesn’t want to leave the spotlight!

Acorns and Oak Leaves, watercolor, 5.25″ x 7.25″

_____________________________________________________________

120 Paintings

“It takes 120 bad paintings to know something about painting.”  –  Larry Seiler as quoted by Jeff Mahorney in his blog

Each painting is small in format and should be completed in about an hour or less.

My goals are to improve my technique, to paint faster, and to gain experience with a variety of subjects.

3 thoughts on “Can the Star of Last Week’s Picture Play a Supporting Role Today?

    • No, I went out and picked a branch off a tree, looking for one that still had acorns attached in their caps. It was a good thing that I painted it quickly because by the next day, the leaves were drying out and curling – which was also interesting, but not what I had already put down on the paper. I thought about doing another picture with the curled leaves, but it was more complex than I could tackle in an hour and other projects were calling my name.

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

