Autumn Sailing

As the days grow shorter and colder, so do the sailing trips.  My tolerance for being out in the weather diminishes with the falling temperatures and the wind seems more blustery in the autumn than in the summer.  Still, we are getting some sunny days which we take advantage of by going out on the boat for a couple of hours.

Herring Bay Sail (miniature), watercolor, 2.5″ x 3.5″

My husband has been writing about our sailing trips on his blog.

(This little watercolor is almost as big on my computer screen as it is in real life!)

8 thoughts on “Autumn Sailing

    • I painted this on Arches 140 lb. cold pressed. I’m sorry you have trouble getting good materials, but you produce such nice work in spite of this difficulty!

      • Ah, I can almost smell the unique aroma of Arches!

        For the acrylics, I roll white paint on mdf plywood and achieve a paper-like surface which responds well to watercolor-like washes. One learns to adapt!

        Thanks for the feedback! Z

    • It is your brain, Katharine, that makes you think it is big. I gave you a point of reference (in which those teeny tiny triangles are a sailboat) and then your agile mind, guided by your previous experiences, told you that the rest must be sized to fit.
      OK, maybe this is artistic mind control. I knew you would think that way 😉

      • On the contrary! I am fascinated. I think that is what art is about — the ability to take us away, out of our own environment, to make a statement, or to give a moment’s rest. Isn’t it?

      • You’re right, and I am so glad that I get to take you on mini-vacations! Now, if we could just go together sometime and get to meet each other there…!

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

