Special Photo Challenge: Inspiration

The Daily Post has issued a challenge to post a portrait of the blogger doing whatever it is that inspires us to blog.  Since my blog is about watercolor and art, and because I live near the Chesapeake Bay and often paint pictures of sailboats, here is a recent picture of me doing two of the things that inspire me:  sailing and drawing.

Drawing while Sailing

This November day was chilly, and I was bundled up because of the wind and the cooler temperatures on the water.

Painting on the boat is impractical, except while we are anchored, so drawing is the way I capture images.  A sepia pen makes a picture that is not as stark as one done with black ink.

Rick at the Helm

The most interesting subject for me that day was my husband, who was at the helm of the boat.  He has pointed out that the boat’s tiller is missing.  Since he doesn’t like to have to sit still while I am drawing, I am challenged to capture a moving subject.  Sometimes his right hand was on the tiller and at other times he was stabilizing it with his foot, so the tiller got left out.

And thank you, Daily Post for a wonderful way to celebrate:  this is my 100th post!

You can see more answers to this challenge at the Daily Post.

12 thoughts on “Special Photo Challenge: Inspiration

  1. Pingback: Special Photo Challenge: Inspiration « What's (in) the picture?

  2. This was my dream as a young girl and as a teenager…and even now, I’d love to be able to draw like that. I admire and appreciate the gift in others.

    • It’s never too late to start! My grandfather took up oil painting when he was 65 and got to be very good. My talent was expressed as a hobby, indulged in occasionally while the children were at home, and now I get to do it full time.

  3. Pingback: Special Photo Challenge: Inspiration | Mirth and Motivation

  4. Pingback: Special Photo Challenge – Inspiration | Chittle Chattle

  5. Pingback: Special Photo Challenge: Inspiration » The Blog Farm

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

