Happy Thanksgiving!

Today is a national holiday, a day in which the United States stops hurrying and scurrying in order to give thanks.  The roots of the holiday go back to the first immigrants, who had survived a harsh year, one of cold, starvation, and much death.  With their first harvest, they paused to thank God for bringing them to a new land, a land in which they could worship without being persecuted.  They celebrated by hosting a meal; tradition says the Native Americans joined them (also bringing food).  We celebrate today by being with family, counting our blessings, and eating.  

I am thankful for my family:  my parents, my siblings, my husband, my children and grandchildren, aunts, uncles, and cousins.  I appreciate for my life, my health, and my job.  I am thrilled to live in a country with the freedoms that we have – freedom to worship, freedom to criticize our government and petition for change and to elect our officials frequently.  I am constantly aware that my nation is very wealthy, so that even those we define as being “at poverty level” are rich by the standard of many in other countries.

And I am thankful for abundant food.  We will be joining my father and stepmother for dinner today, with a gathering of friends.  There will be eleven of us around the table.  Since I can’t share this meal with all of my friends in the “blogosphere,” this picture and recipe come with the prayer that you, too, will stop to count your blessings, and find them to be many.  

May the Lord richly bless you!

10 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

    • I appreciate your comment, Lisa. This one was so much fun that I am doing a version in red (both apples and pie). I did have to peel apples and make a pie so I could get the shapes right and my husband can hardly wait to eat the pie! Does Ecuador celebrate a day of thanksgiving?

      • hey.. i figured that you peeled the apple and worked from life, and i wondered if that pie was sitting in front of you. goodness i wish we lived closer so we could have this feedback in person! i would be competing with your husband for the first slice of that pie!
        i’m working on a post right now about thanksgiving.. all that’s left is to upload some images.
        z

  1. Not only did I “like” it by clicking the button above, I LIKE it every time I eat your pie. You are the best pie maker on earth, and the most wonderful wife a husband could hope for.

    • Thanks, Ros. It’s fun making things a different color, but the correct value, so that the image reads correctly and the color gives an emotional impact.

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

