Impressionist Watercolor Class: Part 6

In this class we started painting white objects in a warm light. In other watercolor classes, I have been encouraged to leave a white object as the white of the paper, but Impressionists want to capture the effect of the light. A warm light will turn a white object slightly yellow, orange, or pink. Cool light will produce cooler tones in the light areas.

White Pitcher and Apples (#1), watercolor 5" x 7"
White Pitcher and Apples (#1), watercolor 5″ x 7″

We were encouraged to paint a strong statement of the light area, and then to make the other values dark enough so that the white area appears white and warm. I think I went too strongly on the light area, but this one looks better than my second attempt.
White pitcher and Apples #2, watercolor 9" x 12"
White pitcher and Apples #2, watercolor 9″ x 12″

I hadn’t finished this one in class so I completed it at home, but I didn’t achieve the impression of warm light, especially on the tablecloth.

6 thoughts on “Impressionist Watercolor Class: Part 6

  1. This is very exciting and will be quite educational, I think.
    I, too, prefer the first painting, here. You are so brave to post results you do not think turned out as well!
    Tell my why the shadow of the pitcher seems disproportional to the shadows of the fruit, please? Thanks!

    • As soon as I read your question about the shadow, I heard the answer in my head, “Because I didn’t paint it right! Uh-oh, better go look.”
      The light on the still life set-up was not too far away, following a diagonal out of the upper left-hand corner. There was a little slice of light on the table between the shadow of the pitcher and the background and I think I left it too big, so the pitcher’s shadow appears too skinny, and then it drops off the edge of the table. The set-up might have been better if the table had been closer and the pitcher’s shadow went up onto the background.
      The lesson I get from this (and I appreciate your question!) is that no matter what something looks like when I’m painting it, the painted version has to appear normal or “right”.

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

