A Sketchbook Day

The challenge was to document a day in one’s life. It has taken me all week to even get this far, so here is my incomplete day, as recorded in pen and ink and watercolor in my sketchbook.

Sketchbook Day #1, pen and ink with watercolor, 5" x 7.5"
Sketchbook Day #1, pen and ink with watercolor, 5″ x 7.5″

1 April 2013
My day usually starts in this chair with a cup of coffee, reading the Bible. It’s often dark when I sit down and I get to watch the light brightening the water and the boats on the creek through the windows beside my chair. Since the windows face west, the morning sun turns the boats and trees on the far shore yellow-orange while our side of the creek is still in shadow.
Sketchbook Day #2, pen and ink with watercolor, 5" x 7.5"
Sketchbook Day #2, pen and ink with watercolor, 5″ x 7.5″

We had eggs and English muffins for breakfast. Rick commented that he’d never seen me cooking with a sketchbook in hand before! And, yes, the eggs were cooked a little too much, but not burned!
Sketchbook Day #3, pen and ink with watercolor, 5" x 7"
Sketchbook Day #3, pen and ink with watercolor, 5″ x 7″

Morning found me doing further work on a program cover for the New Score Chamber Orchestra. My friend wanted more color and contrast than the drawing I had submitted previously. Here I’m working out a possible color scheme for some of the detail.
Sketchbook Day #4, pen and ink with watercolor, 5" x 7.5"
Sketchbook Day #4, pen and ink with watercolor, 5″ x 7.5″

We had Easter dinner with my folks yesterday and my generous step-mother sent us home with ham for my sandwich.
Sketchbook Day #5, pen and ink with watercolor, 5" x 7.5"
Sketchbook Day #5, pen and ink with watercolor, 5″ x 7.5″

Physical Therapy for my knee. The therapist thought my sketchbook was an electronic game! Not shown in this sketch are the two pads with wires attached that provide electrical stimulation for the muscle on my right thigh.

More work on the program cover in the afternoon. I’ve sketched with pen and ink and am starting to add the watercolor washes. The gray spots are masking fluid, and will become multi-colored shapes to represent the music being played.

I did also do laundry, take a walk, and make dinner, but those sketches are still in very rough form and the pencil lines don’t show up well on the scans. Thanks for allowing me to share my day with you!

18 thoughts on “A Sketchbook Day

  1. I love the way you do this. I do it too, sometimes… though not as a project… just to write and sketch impressions for later. Sketch books have lost a little popularity now that everyone uses a computer or a tablet… but I always used to have one in my backpack.

    • Photos are wonderful, but having spent even a small amount of time sketching a scene brings back the memories more vividly for me. I would like to see some of your sketches and musings!

  2. Ruth, these are wonderful and I appreciate that fact that this lets us get to know you better. Wonderful work! Have you ever done the EDM topics? Every Day Matters has always looks like fun. I think I have only gotten through day 4 though…I have good intentions!

  3. this is such a great post! of course you almost burned the eggs! i’ve burned so many things when i tried juggling painting and cooking! they just don’t work well together, unless you’re cooking in a crock pot!

    • There are many moments that I wish I could capture but are too fleeting for my visual memory. I have heard that one can train visual memory, but I haven’t taken the time or effort to do that yet!

      • i find that my visual memory is not as sharp as it was when i was young. i could precisely remember things visual, but now there’s an essence but not the details. or maybe those details are not as important to me now as they were then/

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

