Another Sketch of Western View

As we traveled to my niece’s graduation from Liberty University, we stopped by Western View, an old farmhouse that is the subject of a painting commissioned by a friend.  I wanted to sketch the house again and get it fresh in my mind.

Western View, watercolor, 8" x 10"
Western View, watercolor, 8″ x 10″

This painting qualifies as one of my 120 paintings, as I completed it in about an hour, just as the bugs were beginning to drive me crazy!

When sketching en plein air, an artist sometimes has to be innovative in his set-up.  As I didn’t have a table or chair with me, I upended several logs from a nearby woodpile and set my palette and water container on them so I could hold the painting with one hand and the brush with the other.en plein air set-up

_____________________________________________________________

120 Paintings

“It takes 120 bad paintings to know something about painting.”  –  Larry Seiler as quoted by Jeff Mahorney in his blog

Each painting is small in format and should be completed in about an hour or less.

My goals are to improve my technique, to paint faster, and to gain experience with a variety of subjects.

6 thoughts on “Another Sketch of Western View

  1. When ever I see paintings like this home they bring up wonderful memories of my greataunt and aunt’s homes in Canada on the farms and one house here in Maryland……..Beautiful work Ruth!!!!

    • I hope that the final painting will recall wonderful memories for the friend who requested it. He’s asked me to try to paint it the way it was forty years ago when he worked here while spending the summers with his grandparents. I’m going to have to take out some trees and put others in, as well as putting back up some chimneys that fell down in the earthquake a year and a half ago.

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

