Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves

This week’s photo challenge is to share a picture of curves.  These watercolor pictures are filled with curves!

Musical Lines1_edited-1

Musical Lines2_edited-1

Musical Lines3_edited-1

 

I was entering an art show that was held in conjunction with a music recital and the theme of the show was “Painting Music.”  As I pondered how to do this, I realized that I was not constrained to a two-dimensional format – and I chose to make a book that opens on the diagonal so the “music” on the pages would flow out toward the viewer, much like a listener can be engulfed in a piece of music.

Then I pondered how to paint the music on the pages.  Linda Halcomb, another watercolor artist, does paintings that are filled with lines and circles and wonderful colors.  As I looked at her blog (see the sidebar for a link) I realized that lines and colors like the ones she uses could represent music.  And as I sketched and thought, the idea became my own, with lines of melody entering and exiting, crossing, curving, and connecting, and ending in a finale of fireworks.

I painted three panels, folded them, glued them together, and put them between two covers to become “Melodic Lines,” an art book.

Here is the book as it sits closed:

 

 

 

"Melodic Lines," mixed media, 8" x 8"
“Melodic Lines,” mixed media, 8″ x 8″

and opened:

Melodic Lines, 8" x 8" (closed), mixed media (watercolor and textiles)  April found me thinking about this piece - and how to "paint music."  This book won "Best in Show" at two events this year.
Melodic Lines, 8″ x 8″ (closed), mixed media (watercolor and textiles) April found me thinking about this piece – and how to “paint music.” This book won “Best in Show” at two events this year.

8 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves

    • I started out listening to Respighi’s Ancient Airs and Dances, as it is one of my favorites, but moved on to other pieces during the week it took me to make this piece.

      • I don’t have synaesthesia so i probably didn’t hear anything, however your colour choice and choice of shapes is important. Perhaps you will like this; — Colour is a power which directly influences the soul. Colour is the keyboard, the eyes are the hammer, the soul is the piano with many strings. The artist is the hands which plays, touching one key or another, purposively, to cause vibrations in the Soul. from; Vasily-Kandinsky. Cheerio, Tony

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed it. Watching the colors move as the book is opened and the pages turned was exciting for me – and is now for the woman who bought the book!

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

