# 69 of 120 Paintings – Dawn in “Ward’s Cove”

We went sailing over the weekend with some friends; they picked the spot and we met there, sharing meals and visiting back and forth on the boats.  I woke up early and got out my watercolor paints in time to capture this thin sliver of crescent moon just before the sun came up behind the trees.

Dawn at "Ward's Cove", watercolor, 5" x 7"
Dawn at “Ward’s Cove”, watercolor, 5″ x 7″

______________________________________________________________

120 Paintings

“It takes 120 bad paintings to know something about painting.”  –  Larry Seiler as quoted by Jeff Mahorney in his blog

Each painting is small in format and should be completed in about an hour or less.

My goals are to improve my technique, to paint faster, and to gain experience with a variety of subjects.

5 thoughts on “# 69 of 120 Paintings – Dawn in “Ward’s Cove”

  1. This is a test to see if the ‘reply’ button on my inbox will send this comment to your post!

    Although I cannot view your post/painting right now due to slow internet, I can usually read emails and new post notifications.  Getting an email back out of the inbox is often difficult, but easier than getting the post page to load completely.

    I look forward to seeing the dawn moon image when the connection improves!

    Lisa

      • ha! i can upload one image in about fifteen minutes to one hour to never… or wait til after midnight and upload about twenty in about five minutes.. or less.. i stay up late and then sleep late, though it’s hard on the body!

        when people log off of the same provider, the connection gets faster..and faster the later the night!

  2. A beautiful painted capture of my best way to start the day. I’m not awake enough days at that time but when I am there is much joy in thanking God for the many, many blessings through nature. For me, Ruth, your painting speaks volumes of peace!

    • It was peaceful, Carol, and I too thank God for the glory he reveals in nature. There was a crabber working a line along the near shore, but thankfully he didn’t turn on his music (Sly Stone) until later in the morning!

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

