#70 of 120 Paintings – Bay Bridge

Bay Bridge at Annapolis, MD (cobalt blue), watercolor, 5" x 7"
Bay Bridge at Annapolis, MD (cobalt blue), watercolor, 5″ x 7″

I have friends who live in a wonderful condo on the Chesapeake Bay in Annapolis. The view out their living room windows is a grand vista of the Severn River, the Chesapeake Bay Bridge, across the Bay to Kent Island, and south into the watery distance.

I was one of a group of ladies who were invited to come and paint the view (using watercolor) in conjunction with a Bible study about bodies of water.  Our challenge was to paint the scene using a single color.  Here is the bridge painted in cobalt blue.

______________________________________________________________

120 Paintings

“It takes 120 bad paintings to know something about painting.”  –  Larry Seiler as quoted by Jeff Mahorney in his blog

Each painting is small in format and should be completed in about an hour or less.

My goals are to improve my technique, to paint faster, and to gain experience with a variety of subjects.

4 thoughts on “#70 of 120 Paintings – Bay Bridge

    • It’s amazing how much can be expressed without color, and also amazing what color actually brings to a painting. Sorry, z, but I didn’t get pictures of anyone else’s painting.

    • I understand being ponderously slow! That was one of the reasons why I started this series of 120 paintings, and it has made me be able to work faster. There are still times when I find myself stuck with hesitation or indecision or bogged down in the details too soon, and then the painting doesn’t get finished, or ends up looking overworked.

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

