Glass of Wine and Grapes

I painted this watercolor picture in order to practice painting glass.  I wanted a simple piece of glassware in order to concentrate on how to paint a clear object.

Glass of Wine and Grapes (Veritcal), watercolor, 7" x 5"
Glass of Wine and Grapes (vertical), watercolor, 7″ x 5″

On Friday, the Daily Post announced this week’s challenge:  One Shot, Two Ways, or to present the same subject in both a vertical and horizontal format, ideally from the same time period.

I decided that I could use the practice on painting this subject again, so I experimented with several horizontal scenarios, which I posted about here.   I tried emptying the glass until it was down to the dregs and pulled all but a few grapes off the cluster, thinking of an “after” picture.  But the view that was liked best by my readers was one of an upright glass, and came with the suggestion to put the grapes into the shadow of the glass.  So I “painted” the grapes back on their stems and put the wine back in the glass for this horizontal version:

Glass of Wine and Grapes (Horizontal), watercolor, 5" x 7"
Glass of Wine and Grapes (horizontal), watercolor, 5″ x 7″

Many thanks to those who responded  to my query about the value studies, and especially to Renee for her excellent idea!

7 thoughts on “Glass of Wine and Grapes

  1. ruth, the painting is lovely! i love it! your post also made me thirsty for a good glass of vino tinto! hmmm, i’m going to dinner with a friend tonight (peruvian restaurant) and they have pisco but no wine.. i might have to pick up a bottle!

    you’re corrupting me!!! (ja! NOT!)

    lisa/z

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

