Mount Baker (#81 of 120 Paintings)

We took a trip out to Washington State in September.  The days were clear and beautiful, filled with wonderful autumn weather.  We could see Mount Baker, with its snow fields shining in the sun during the day and in the light of the full moon at night, towering over the landscape from thirty miles away.

Mount Baker from Hovander Homestead, watercolor, 5" x 7"
Mount Baker from Hovander Homestead, watercolor, 5″ x 7″

I painted this picture from Hovander Homestead, Ferndale, a turn of the century (1901) farmhouse that is now a county park.  We spent a delightful day walking the grounds, exploring the barns, and smelling our way through the nearby fragrance garden.

 

11 thoughts on “Mount Baker (#81 of 120 Paintings)

    • Thanks, Barry! I appreciate your encouraging comment. Limiting myself to an hour for these small paintings helps me (forces me) to simplify, which keeps me from getting lost in the details.

  1. Oooh, I was in the Reader and it showed this lovely painting first, before displaying the blog title, but I said to myself, “Yay! Ruth is back!” Then I wondered if I was just wishing, but NO! It’s you! You’re back! 🙂
    And I love the painting. Love it.

  2. Your painting reflects a great trip. Glad you are back on here. I love looking at your work!!!!

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

