Sailing on Cay of Sea: Shakedown Cruise

I have started a small sketchbook, dedicated to our sailing adventures this season.  The sketches are done quickly, attempting to capture the feel of the moment more than striving to be accurate.  I start each sketch with pencil, and move to a permanent sepia pen after I have planned out the sketch.  The pencil lines are erased, and later, I can come back in and augment the sketch with watercolor.

We enjoy going to the annual rendezvous of owners of “Watkins” sailboats, of which ours is the 27′ model.  The rendezvous usually takes place at a marina in the southern part of the Chesapeake Bay, 80 – 90 miles from our home port, since most of the attendees are from the Norfolk area.

But before we set out for nine days on the boat at the beginning of the season, we like to take an overnight close to home to find out what supplies and equipment we took off the boat for the winter and have forgotten to put back on.  This is our “shakedown cruise,” and yes, we found out that our bed pillows for the boat had migrated to the guest bed during the winter, and my husband’s float coat, a jacket with a built-in life-preserver, had been worn home last fall and was still in the hall closet.

 

13 thoughts on “Sailing on Cay of Sea: Shakedown Cruise

  1. You’re back! I’ve missed you! Hope all is well.
    This is so different from what you’ve done before. I like it, though!:) I need to come visit you, but wow, what a distance…

    • The preparation time for teaching replaced the time I was spending creating, and I found that I wasn’t working on new projects, so I didn’t have a lot to show on the blog. And then not posting led to less posting, and it became a vicious circle.

      • Art should not be a vicious circle. It is great to see you, though, and this interesting post is such an eye-opener.:) We have done the same thing with each of our guest bedrooms, sleeping there one night just to see how it feels to the occupant, what’s missing, etc. It’s always funny what we forgot.

  2. Reblogged this on middlebaysailing and commented:
    Thought you would like another visual perspective on our cruising. My artist-wife is keeping a sketchbook journal of our cruising this year. Here are some of her images and impressions of our travels on board Cay of Sea thus far.

    • Thanks for the reblog, Rick. It’s clear that you’re (rightly so) proud of your wife’s accomplishments. Since I can’t draw a stick figure, I look on real artists as supernatural beings. Love the art work.

    • I have a vivid memory of us taking a trip with my brother and sister-in-law in which we got started across the Bay late, and arrived at Tilghman Island Inn in the dark in the midst of a thunder storm and a terrific downpour. The restaurants had closed and we picnicked in our rooms, eating the lunch that I had planned for the next day. Interesting how adversity makes great memories and good stories to tell later, especially if all turned out well!

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

