The Cherries Are Ripe!

We live in a wonderful place!  Outside our back door is the creek with a great view of the boats, the water, and the sunsets.  In the front by the road is a garden filled with roses, day lilies, rosemary, peonies.  Beside the garden is a picturesque tractor. And then there are two small cherry trees.

This morning, my husband went for a tour of the yard.  He came back in and said, “The cherries are ripe.  We’d better pick some before the birds get them all.”  So I grabbed a measuring cup (to hold cherries) and then I grabbed my paints and a fresh piece of paper.  I set a timer for 55 minutes, which gives me a five-minute warning that it’s time to finish up.

Here is what the tree looked like in the spring, and what it looked like this morning:

After I had painted and brought my gear back inside, I went back and filled the measuring cup with ripe cherries.

_______________________________________________________________

120 Paintings

  • “It takes 120 bad paintings to know something about painting.”  –  Larry Seiler as quoted by Jeff Mahorney in his blog
  • Each painting is small in format and should be completed in about an hour or less.
  • My goals are to improve my technique, to paint faster, and to gain experience with a variety of subjects.

7 thoughts on “The Cherries Are Ripe!

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

