A Charming Group of Roses

June seems to be a good month for roses, and as I look at this watercolor picture of some roses from the bush near the street, I can’t help but think of a line from one of my favorite childhood books.

A Charming Group of Roses, watercolor, 8" x 8"
A Charming Group of Roses, watercolor, 8″ x 8″

“In June I saw a charming group

of roses all begin to droop.

I pepped them up with Chicken Soup!

Sprinkle once, sprinkle twice

Sprinkle Chicken Soup with Rice.”

From Chicken Soup with Rice: a book of Months by Maurice Sendak.

This is one of a group of four books, entitled the Nutshell Library.  I think they were my favorite books because they were small, just the right size to hold in my little hands.  I memorized them early, but still liked to hold them, reading them over and over and carrying them around with me.

One thought on “A Charming Group of Roses

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

