Time Out for Art: Pen and Ink

We had a damaging storm come through last Wednesday night.  I’m thankful that no one I know of was hurt, but the trees in our area suffered many broken limbs. We now have only a small path through which we can navigate to our front door until our landlord gets out his chain saw.  The neighbor’s spruce tree is leaning over the fence and resting on our roof.  My son was late to work because a couple of locust trees on the corner were down and blocking the road.   Today, the county sent out a maintenance crew and they cleared the remains of the locust trees off the corner.  I had a few minutes before my art student came, and I saw an opportunity to do some drawing.

 

Clearing Fallen Trees, pen and ink, 9" x 12"
Clearing Fallen Trees, pen and ink, 9″ x 12″

When I have been drawing in my sketchbook lately, I have started with a pencil and switched to the pen when I was confident of where my lines should be.  I didn’t think I would have time for that today, so I went directly into the drawing with ink.  Later, I added some watercolor, which doesn’t make a smooth wash on the sketchbook paper, but adds some color.

Clearing Fallen Trees (color), pen and ink with watercolor, 9" x 12"
Clearing Fallen Trees (color), pen and ink with watercolor, 9″ x 12″

One thought on “Time Out for Art: Pen and Ink

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about the storm, and so impressed that you took time to sketch (and not photograph!) the clean-up crew! Your posts are always special, and it’s great to see how you captured it with an easy ‘timeout’ with your pen and watercolors.

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

