Choosing What Not to Say

One of the challenges I give myself when painting in watercolor is to not paint everything, not to put in all the details, not to make my painting look like a photograph.  I have found that if I suggest areas of the painting, then the viewer is more engaged because their brain is “filling in the gaps,” and therefore engaged in the creative process.  I have to say enough, but not too much.

This is especially true when painting something with as many complicated little shapes as this pink hydrangea.

Pink Hydrangeas, watercolor, 5" x 7"
Pink Hydrangea, watercolor, 5″ x 7″

 

9 thoughts on “Choosing What Not to Say

  1. As always Ruth, I also admire your ability to work with both positive and negative space simultaneously. Really enjoying your lovely flowers, you are brightening up my winter here. Karen

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

