“Do you feel like you are selling your children?”

Sometimes people ask me, “Do you feel like you are selling your children when you sell your art?” And I smile and reply that its more like having one of my children get married. I am thrilled that someone else likes them enough to have them in their home!

Three weeks ago I was out painting in the garden of a marina and as I finished, a group was going by on their way to a boat. They stopped and complimented me on the painting and enquired about my web site. I gave them a business card, picked up my gear, and went home for lunch. A couple of days later, I received an email asking if the picture was for sale. This resulted in a studio tour and the purchase of several of my pieces. This was so encouraging that I felt a hand-painted card was in order for a thank you note.

Yellow Rose Card, watercolor, 4.5 x 6
Yellow Rose Card, watercolor, 4.5 x 6

11 thoughts on ““Do you feel like you are selling your children?”

  1. I find that if I make prints of them, whether for me or for sale, it is easier to let go of them, whether they are paintings or atc’s. Also, that way I can remember what i did. Sometimes I feel like they are a gift from the spirit world, which is why I want to be able to remember them.

    • Sue, I usually have my husband take a good photo of each image before I mat or frame it. That way I can make a reproduction if I want, but I have a record of all my paintings. Thanks for your input.

    • No, Katharine, I made them up. Having painted roses several times recently, I am familiar with the shapes of the flowers and leaves. I put down a colored wash in a large shape for the flower and then “found” the petals as the paint suggested.

  2. I’m always thrilled and greatful that somebody wants a piece especially when they have a different connection to the subject. One lady and her daughter bought a sunflower painting because it reminded them of their Grandmother… So cool! I painted it because my daughter gave the sunflower to me.

    Congratulations on your sales Ruth! You are very talented and the flowers are beautiful!!

    • Thanks, Renee. Congrats on connecting with the lady who bought your sunflower painting. The love from your daughter has now been passed on to another mother and daughter. How cool is that!

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

