A Fanciful Flower

Fanciful Flower, watercolor, 7
Fanciful Flower, watercolor, 7″ x 5″

In her wonderful book Watercolor: Painting Outside the Lines, Linda Kemp has an exercise in negative painting that produces a fanciful flower.

After laying in an initial wash of my three colors, I traced around a stencil with six petals for the flower head.  I painted around that layer, using the colors that were already on the paper as a guide for the next layer.  Trace, paint, trace, paint, and then imagine some leaves and a stem and another flower further back in the picture plane.

This was a fun painting to do on a rainy day when I couldn’t be outside painting the flowers that are starting to bloom in my garden!

What do you do on rainy days?

20 thoughts on “A Fanciful Flower

    • I have some favorite triads that I frequently use. This is a new one, as I was recently given a tube of quinacridone magenta. Phthalo blue and new gamboge round out the trio, although I am tempted to buy a tube of turquoise to try with the magenta.

  1. On a rainy day? We’ve had so many! One thing I do not do is watch the grass grow.
    Still, it grows, anyway! Ha.
    Then a sunny, breezy day comes and dries it enough to mow it again 🙂

    Loved the flowers. 🙂

  2. Rainy days are usually high energy days for me.. because I’m unable to go outside/be distracted by the outdoors, I am able to focus 100 percent on my art…

    i liked this exercise concept, and your results are great!

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

