I Wish I Could Grow Flowers Like This. . .

I wish that I could grow flowers that would spill out of a window box like this! But, alas, I do not have a green thumb and the only way I can grow them is on paper. (Did you see the Gerber Daisy I painted recently? I watered it one day – and it died!)

No Title Yet, watercolor, 10" x 8"
No Title Yet, watercolor, 10″ x 8″

I also need some help, because I find that I am giving my paintings mundane names, usually based on the subject matter. Since my reference photo was of a Window in Assisi, that’s what I named the picture the first time I painted it. In this version, I have emphasized the flowers and downplayed the old stone walls.

Please tell me what you thought about when you first saw the picture and what kind of a title would help convey that message!

18 thoughts on “I Wish I Could Grow Flowers Like This. . .

  1. you’ve received excellent suggestions, though i like the concept of ‘raining flowers.’

    like you, i hit generic walls when it comes to finding names for the paintings.. you’ve come up with a great options – toss those babes to the readers!

    • It does help to have feedback and hear what others are thinking. I’m also aware that sometimes a good title can help the viewers to relate better to a piece.

  2. Hi Ruth, I felt the same when I was in France and there were all these amazing window boxes and hanging pots overflowing with flowers. Like you I can only draw them, but your lovely painting took me straight back there. Karen

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

