Carrots from Primaterra Farm

Primaterra Carrots, watercolor, 10" x 8"
Primaterra Carrots, watercolor, 10″ x 8″

Two other artists and I have joined together to show and sell some smaller art pieces at the local farmers’ market at Greenstreet Gardens.  Across the aisle from us today was Henry of Primaterra Farm. We all sniffed appreciatively when he shook out the basil and other herbs. We admired his radishes, beets, and the different greens.  But I was drawn to the carrots – delicious morsels in varying colors.  I went over and bought a bunch, asking if he minded if I stood there and painted them.  He shrugged a little and commented about Stacy Greenstreet buying bunches of them to feed to her horse.  After I bought them, he didn’t mind what I did with them!

Henry, with his carrots (now my carrots), and me with my painted carrots.
Henry, with his carrots (now my carrots), and me with my painted carrots.

It wasn’t until I set up my palette and easel that he realized the paint was going on the paper, not on the carrots!

What have you eaten recently that came from a local farm?

7 thoughts on “Carrots from Primaterra Farm

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

