Lovin’ the Lavender

When we moved into our current house four years ago, there was a small weedy area surrounded by pieces of slate that our landlord said we could use for a garden.  So, after we unpacked the boxes, we went off to our local nursery, Greenstreet Gardens, and chose a bunch of plants, a mixture of flowers and herbs.  One of my husband’s choices was some lavender, which has come back bigger and more luxurious each year.  When it is blooming, it is filled with bumblebees.

Lovin' the Lavender, watercolor, 7" x 5"
Lovin’ the Lavender, watercolor, 7″ x 5″

I haven’t decided whether to call this “Lovin’ the Lavender” or “Bee Heaven”.

16 thoughts on “Lovin’ the Lavender

  1. I love lavender! Once, for my birthday, I received a little cash and went to a professional herb greenhouse and bought a flat of 1″ pot-bound lavender starts for very little money. Brought them home, and since it was my birthday, one of my sons dug all 70 hole for me! They grow in a bed enclosing our circle drive and are the talk of the town. Every year I harvest far more than I could ever use, although I make lavender cookies every year. I also make Zzz Masks, which are room-darkening masks filled with lavender and rice; a neck roll; and even lavender-filled slippers.
    It is just wonderful to walk past them when they are in bloom on a hot, breezy day! And if I don’t get them all harvested in time, oh, the aroma from the fading and spent blooms!
    This painting of yours reminds me of so many joys! 🙂

      • Yes, it is! I get just enough weeding, trimming, harvesting, drying, stripping the blossoms off, and LAVENDER, to make me think I’ve really done something, but not so much that I feel in bondage to it.
        In bondage to lavender? Ha!! 🙂

  2. this is such a cheerful summery happy piece, you can’t help but smile!! I love the softness of some of the lavender with the busy bees whizzing about!

  3. I also like that some of the bloom heads are blurred. In our breezes, that is exactly how a photo would take it. But we don’t get bumble bees here; rather carpenter bees, honey bees, and some kind of skipper type of moth…still as crowded as your painting looks. 🙂

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

