Lavender Lemonade: A Farmers’ Market Treat

Lavender Lemonade, watercolor, 7" x 5"
Lavender Lemonade, watercolor, 7″ x 5″

Our local Farmers’ Market at Greenstreet Gardens has a wonderful treat.  On these hot, humid, summer afternoons, a glass of lemonade is a welcome thirst quencher.  Combine that sweet-tart taste with a hint of lavender and that welcome drink becomes memorable.  The cubes of ice cool the lemonade, and small beads of condensation form on the outside of the glass, reminding me that if I drink it, there will be fewer of those beads on my forehead!

What is your favorite summertime thirst quencher?

11 thoughts on “Lavender Lemonade: A Farmers’ Market Treat

    • The lavender is more of a scent than a flavor, and like smells, it was lost if I just drank a lot of it, but if I put the cup down for a minute or two, the scent was back in full force.

      • They say scents affect taste and flavor, too. We “eat with our nose” (Google that concept). I’ve had lavender scented/flavored : ) gum and breath mints, which are divine. They’re violet colored and expensive, hard to get – I used to get them in NYC and in a small town nearby.

  1. Mmm…:) The unopened or barely opened blossoms, although I use full-blown ones, also.
    When I use lavender in Amish sugar cookies, it only takes about 1 or 2 tablespoons. If dried, I blend with flour in my blender, first, to pulverize. Or if I have a lot, I just pulverize about a pint of just the blossoms, for future cooking. If fresh, I puree with the butter in a food processor. Here is my recipe:
    https://katharinetrauger.wordpress.com/2013/12/13/in-case-you-need-another-cookie-recipe/

    • My daughter read this post and was inspired by your recipe. I’m going out today and cutting the stalks that still have dried blossoms on them, as my bush is past full-bloom, and we’ll pulverize the blossoms to get the flavor for her cookies. Thanks for sharing this!

      • Wow! I’m glad! I am always surprised when a recipe becomes inspiration.
        You’ll be glad to learn that it is very easy to strip the blossoms off: Just run the stem between the thumb and first finger and they all scrape off in one stroke.

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

