Time Out for Art: Electrical Repair

I got up this morning to find my son eating breakfast by flashlight.  After a little exploration around the house, I discovered that some parts of the house had power while other parts did not.  I could make a cup of coffee, but I would have to drink it in the dark.  I could turn on the light in the bathroom, but not write an email since the modem didn’t have power.  I checked the breakers and they looked fine. So I called the power company and they sent out a technician.

Electrical Repair, pen and ink, 7" x 5"
Electrical Repair, pen and ink, 7″ x 5″

He first tested the power coming in to the junction box on the side of the house.  All looked well.  The power company is only responsible for the wires coming to the house; if I had a problem inside, he wouldn’t be able to help with it.  But before he concluded that for sure, he would check the other connections.  So he hopped into the bucket on the back of his truck and “flew up” to the top of the pole at the end of the driveway.  When that checked out okay, he got a ladder to check the connectors at the top of the house.  Bingo!  One of them was old and cracked and had shorted out.  It only took him a couple of minutes to replace, but it was long enough for me to capture a quick image of him up the ladder with all of his protective gear on.

4 thoughts on “Time Out for Art: Electrical Repair

    • Work was slow for him that day, so we had time to talk about his safety gear – the rubber sleeves that he wore, the fire-retardant shirt, the safety glasses, the gloves, the boots, the chocks for the wheels, etc. Oh yes, and the ten levers for manipulating the bucket on the truck.

      • Wow. What a lesson! I know they know their jobs well, and have lots of safety gear, and yet, still, sometimes accidents happen. Suppose that’s true everywhere…

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

