Weekly Challenge: Let There Be Light!

In this week’s challenge from the Daily Post, Ben has asked us to light up the comment section:  “In time for the shortest days of the year (at least in the northern hemisphere), let’s give our trusty lightbulbs, flickering candles, and pedestrian street lamps their due respect… Take a look around you. Choose one of the light sources you see, and make it the focus of your challenge entry.”

A Light in the Darkness, watercolor, 7" x 5"
A Light in the Darkness, watercolor, 7″ x 5″

My brother asked me to let him use one of my paintings for his Christmas card this year, and suggested the candle picture that I had painted last year.  I decided to repaint the picture since I didn’t like the greenery of the first painting.  I went to our father’s house and picked up bits of holly that had fallen off a tree (his dog doesn’t like stepping on the spiny leaves!) and used them to surround the candle.

As we in the northern hemisphere approach the shortest day of the year, may your days (and evenings) be filled with cheerful light!


Posted

in

,

by

Comments

17 responses to “Weekly Challenge: Let There Be Light!”

  1. […] Weekly Challenge: Let There Be Light! | Ruth Bailey, artist […]

  2. […] Weekly Challenge: Let There Be Light! | Ruth Bailey, artist […]

  3. Veronica Roth Avatar
    Veronica Roth

    That is so pretty Ruth; no wonder brother has asked to use it. I’m just gearing up to painting something again and something Christmasy seems to feel just right. 🙂

    1. Ruth Bailey Avatar

      Yes, and I would like to see what you end up painting! I find it hard to paint ahead of the season and am just starting on some Christmas images so my brother will have more to pick from next year.

      1. Veronica Roth Avatar
        Veronica Roth

        I’ll try to let you know Ruth…have put your link in my favourite bar. I suspect that I won’t get to it till after the 12th when I’m back in England. Too much to do between now and then in Vancouver. I’m pretty sure it’ll be a new map though and I’m thinking there will be a robin on it somewhere. 🙂

  4. Weekly Photo Challenge: Let there be some neon light! | Humbled Pie Avatar

    […] Weekly Challenge: Let There Be Light! | Ruth Bailey, artist […]

  5. mithriluna Avatar

    Beautiful watercolor!

  6. Weekly Photo Challenge: Let there be 75,000 watts of light! | Humbled Pie Avatar

    […] Weekly Challenge: Let There Be Light! | Ruth Bailey, artist […]

  7. […] Weekly Challenge: Let There Be Light! | Ruth Bailey, artist […]

  8. […] Weekly Challenge: Let There Be Light! | Ruth Bailey, artist […]

  9. lindahalcombfineart Avatar

    Ruth, this will make a lovely card. Are you familiar with the legend that upon Christ’s birth all the trees of the forest burst into flower and leaf? It is felt that today the holly best represents that story. Again, great work…

  10. Weekly Photo Challenge: Let There Be Light! (5) | Through the Eye of Bastet Avatar

    […] Weekly Challenge: Let There Be Light! | Ruth Bailey, artist […]

  11. Ells Avatar
    Ells

    beautiful!

I’m interested in hearing what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.