Art Self Critique

Today, I want to take the same sketch that I posted previously and do some evaluation.

Western View Composite Sketch, pen and ink with watercolor washes, 11" x 14"

Although I am happy with the ideas and the overall impression, there is room for improvement.

I think that the house in the center should be bigger.  Right now, the house, the porch, and the barn all occupy spaces about the same size on the page.  Making the house bigger would give some variety in size.  It would also put the chimney on the right overlapping the porch and eliminating the halo of sky that is there now.

When doing a final picture, I would spend more time on the dogwood flowers, giving them some shadows and more details.  I wanted a darker background to help them stand out, but I couldn’t figure out how to transition between the background and the sky.  Next time, I would make the edge of the dark background shape to look like more blossoms, leaves, and branches.

The pig in front on the left has his head in the grass, but this didn’t come out at clearly as I had planned.

The barn should have some hay bales and farm equipment.  Right now it is too neat.

The color washes for the sky and the grass are blotchy since I started this in pen and ink on sketchbook paper and decided to add the color directly on the sketch. Putting the final picture on watercolor paper would allow me more control in these areas.

I am wondering if there are other areas which should be addressed.  You, my readers, have been very kind and supportive in your comments and I now welcome your suggestions as to other improvements that can be made.

 

8 thoughts on “Art Self Critique

  1. First I want to say that I admire you for being able to paint so well. One of the reasons I stick with photography is because I can’t draw a straight line with a ruler!

    Specific feedback, since that is what you are seeking –
    When I created my first photographic collage I had all the images the same size. My mentor pointed out that the similar size implies each part was of similar importance. But they weren’t of similar importance. So I redid it and made the more important aspects larger and more central. The secondary aspects I grouped together rather than had them scattered.

    I wonder what would happen if you applied similar concepts to this painting?

    I look forward to seeing the completed version.

    Julie

  2. Rew, what about putting the farm equipment in or near the barn, leaving a clear path to the house with no distractions?
    Dad –

I'm interested in hearing what you think!

