Time Out for Art: Drawing a Line (or Knot)

Bowline, pencil, 5" x 7"
Bowline, pencil, 5″ x 7″

Jeff Werner wrote in Sail Magazine, “Once you cut a piece of rope off the spool at the chandlery and bring it aboard your boat and give it a job to do, it becomes a line you have put to work.”  Here I’ve put my artist’s line and the sailor’s line to work together.

This knot is a bowline, probably the most commonly found knot on a sailboat.  It is used when one wants a fixed loop in a line that won’t slip or jam, such as fastening a mooring line to a ring or a post.  The bowline is strong, but unties easily once it is not longer needed.  It is a poor safety knot since it can work its way untied when there is no pressure on it.

 

 


Posted

in

by

Comments

13 responses to “Time Out for Art: Drawing a Line (or Knot)”

  1. vastlycurious.com Avatar
    vastlycurious.com

    I love it. Drawing rope is one of my favorite details.

  2. Margie Avatar
    Margie

    So simple a thing, yet probably very difficult to draw!

    1. Ruth Bailey Avatar

      Not very difficult, just a matter of observing the lights and darks. A little tedious perhaps in that each turn of the three-stranded rope has its own lights and shadows, but I did the drawing in stages as I was waiting for watercolor washes on other pictures to dry.

  3. Playamart - Zeebra Designs Avatar

    ruth! what a gift it is to view your posts! thanks for sharing the delicate-yet-strong drawing as well as your knowledge of sailing! z

    1. Ruth Bailey Avatar

      Gracias, amiga! We have to have some way to attach that anchor to the magic carpet!

  4. Xraypics Avatar

    How I remember struggling on that knot when I was a junior scout. I looked carefully and you have Got It! The rabbit came out of the hole, round the tree and back into the hole. A lovely drawing. Tony

    1. Ruth Bailey Avatar

      I appreciate your comment, Tony! And every time I tie this knot, I think about that rabbit.

  5. Katharine Trauger Avatar

    Love your pencil work! 🙂

    1. Ruth Bailey Avatar

      Lisa (of Zeebra Designs and Destinations.wordpress.com) is sponsoring an informal forum for pencil drawings every Thursday. There are entries of many subjects, under the category of “Time Out for Art”. (I can’t seem to figure out how to put a link in this comment and I usually put a link in the post but I see that I didn’t do that this week.)

  6. pommepal Avatar

    That rope is so realistic

    1. Ruth Bailey Avatar

      Thanks! I found myself repeatedly being drawn down into the details and had to remind myself to step back and remember the big picture.

      1. pommepal Avatar

        The detail makes for a realistic drawing

I’m interested in hearing what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.